TUNDRA Super Late Models

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association seeks to keep Super Late Model racing affordable while putting on the most entertaining program possible.


Posted on Apr 28, 2014



PORTAGE, Wis. (April 28, 2014) – The experienced versus the inexperienced. Champions versus rookies. Locals versus Travelers. The 43-car early entry list for TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Round One at Wisconsin International Raceway is littered with ingredients for an intriguing May 10 affair.

Defending TUNDRA Champion Nick Panitzke will not be the only driver boasting a title heading into the TUNDRA season. Travis Dassow, who will team drive with last year’s Mid-American Champion Brad Keith, holds a traveling title of his own. He was the 2007 ASA Late Model Challenge Series titlist.

Three-time Marshfield Motor Speedway Champion Eugene Gregorich Jr. will again be on the heels of Panitzke after finishing third in TUNDRA standings last season. Other contenders at WIR carrying titles include Slinger Speedway Champions Steve Apel and Jeremy Lepak (TUNDRA Traveler), former Golden Sands Champions (and returning TUNDRA Travelers) Brandon Selle and Frank Nitzke and former three-time Dells Raceway Park Champion Corey Jankowski.

The local contingent will be out in full force, as well. Defending WIR Champion Jeff VanOudenhoven, three-time WIR Champion Lowell Bennett and top guns Kyle Calmes, Maxwell Schultz, Ty Majeski, Brett Piontek and Andy Monday have also filed entries. Tom Gee Jr. won the WIR opener last season, but has decided to join up as a TUNDRA Traveler for 2014.

Several drivers from the WIR Late Model ranks will step up to the plate to take on the Super Late Models. Cory Kemkes, Jesse Oudenhoven, Corey Manders and Brent Strelka will join the ranks of TUNDRA on the d-shaped ½ mile. Strelka will run the TUNDRA season with former Champ Dennis Prunty as a teammate.

A few out-of-towners will hope to crash the party in the season opener just like last season. Florida’s Dalton Zehr (2013 Norway Champion) grabbed his fifth career TUNDRA win in Round One last season. For this season’s first event he joins forces with Chase Motorsports, who found victory lane twice last season with 12-time WIR Champ Terry Baldry behind the wheel. Illinois hot-shoe Michael Bilderback also plans to contend for the TUNDRA title. Super Star Motorsports will also file two-out-of-state entries. Joey Garjoni will make the trip from Miami, Fla., and 19-year-old Morgan Rasmussen will trek from Twin Falls Idaho.

Rasmussen is among no less than ten rookies entered for the 2014 season. The class includes De Pere’s Reagan May, who makes her return to WIR, Former DRP standouts Rich Schumann Jr., and Mike Lichtfeld, former Mid-American top runners Travis Rodewald, Dan Church and Ryan Farrell, out-of-staters Mikie Breiner and Shawn Majkrzak, and Baldry’s grandson Wyatt Blashe. Gee will also run for the Dean’s Satellite Rookie of the Year prize.

Click on the link at the top of this article for full entry list.

Round One “Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes” is scheduled for a 2 p.m. start time. Support classes include the Mid-American Stock Car Series, Wisconsin Sport Trucks and Figure 8s. Ticket prices are $10 for adults (age 13 and up). Children 12 years and under will receive free admission.

WIR is located at W1460 County Road KK just outside of Kaukauna, Wis. For more information visit www.wirmotorsports.com

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association (TUNDRA) Super Late Model Series was formed in 2011 as the Alive For Five Super Late Model Series at Dells Raceway Park. TUNDRA’s business plan is based on a sustainable program for promoters and race teams alike, while still providing high-quality Super Late Model entertainment to fans.

For more information on TUNDRA including news, results and the final 2013 standings, archived results and standings, and more visit www.tundrasuperlates.com. Also, interact with us on Facebook (facebook.com/TundraSuperLateModels) or Twitter (@TUNDRAslms).