TUNDRA Super Late Models

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association seeks to keep Super Late Model racing affordable while putting on the most entertaining program possible.


Posted on Jul 4, 2014



About the Event:

  • Date: Saturday, July 5
  • Official Event Name: Island Resort and Casino Stateline Challenge/Round Four Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes
  • Times: 1 p.m. – Pits Open, 5 p.m. – Stands, 5:45 p.m. – Qualifying, 7 p.m. – Racing
  • Other Divisions – Auto Value Super Stocks, DQ Dogs (4 cylinders)
  • TUNDRA Format – Qualifying, Gong Show, Last Chance Race, Feature, Country Plumber Shootout B Feature
  • Ticket Prices: $12 General Admission


About Jefferson Speedway:

  • Layout: Slightly banked, third-mile asphalt oval
  • Location: State Hwy 141 and US Hwy 2 just south of Norway on US Hwy 8
  • Web site: www.norwayspeedway.com


TUNDRA 2013 Schedule:

  • May 10 – Round One – Wisconsin International Raceway (Dalton Zehr)
  • May 26 – Round Two – Golden Sands Speedway (Michael Bilderback)
  • June 21 – Round Three – Jefferson Speedway (Casey Johnson)
  • July 5 – Round Four – Norway Speedway
  • July 26 – Round Five – LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway
  • August 2 – Round Six – Marshfield Motor Speedway
  • August 23 – Round Seven – Dells Raceway Park
  • September 7 – Championship Round – Slinger Speedway


Current 2014 TUNDRA points: http://www.tundrasuperlates.com/points/


All-time TUNDRA stats:



Expected Entries: http://www.tundrasuperlates.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/14_ROUND-FOUR_entries2.pdf


TUNDRA Adds Another Prestigious Event

TUNDRA’s first trip outside of the state of Wisconsin will be for good reason Saturday.  The series will headline the historic Stateline Challenge, one of Norway Speedway’s cornerstone events.  Past winners of the Stateline Challenge include Dick Trickle, Matt Kenseth, Scott Hansen, Terry Baldry and Jamie Iverson.  (See below for full list of winners).


Extra Cash Available

Thanks to contributions from Island Resort and Casino and Norway Speedway, the winner of the Stateline Challenge will leave with no less than a $1,000 prize.


TUNDRA Travelers will have $100 cash waiting for them as the roll through the gate as a bonus from the series and Norway Speedway.


How many States?

Many state lines will be disputed in this year’s running of the event.  Drivers from Upper Michigan and Wisconsin will be joined by those from Minnesota, Illinois, Idaho and Florida.


Locals Well-Represented

No fewer than a dozen Norway Speedway regulars will join the TUNDRA Travelers in hopes of keeping the trophy at home.  Among those entered are six of the top nine in weekly standings at the track.  Defending Stateline Challenge Champion Dillon Kralovetz will be viewed as a favorite.  Although he is considered a Norway Speedway regular, Kralovetz makes the tow to the third-mile each week from Bonduel, Wis.


TUNDRA Regulars with Norway Flavor

Former Norway Rookie of the Year Jordan Ives will draw attention as one of the top contenders to grab the Stateline Challenge.  The 16 year old has won two features at Norway and is the current point leader.  In his second year with TUNDRA, Ives has steadily improved and is coming off his best finish with the series at Jefferson.


Dalton Zehr is also familiar with the facility.  Last season Zehr won the title by picking up wins in nine of eleven features.  This season he has raced Craig Schei’s machine twice.  He finished second to Ives in last week’s feature.


Point Battle Heating Up

A trip to Norway at this point in the season may be perfecting timing for Zehr.  After Round Three, Zehr pulled into a tie with TUNDRA point leader Eugene Gregorich Jr.  Extra experience for Zehr could pay dividends in trying to get a leg up on Gregorich.  In third Bobby Kendall trails the lead duo by just five markers.  A strong run at Jefferson propelled defending TUNDRA Champ Nick Panitzke to fourth, just nine points behind the leaders.


Help Me Out, Partner!

Four-time Champion and current point leader at State Park Speedway Mark Mackesy will tag in for Ty Majeski at Norway.  Mackesy has past experience at Norway, but has not visited the facility in over a decade.  He and Majeski sit just 16 points back of the leaders.  If Mackesy is able to have a strong run, he could position Majeski well for a title run.  One of Majeski’s strongest tracks, LaCrosse Speedway, is next on the TUNDRA schedule.


Rookie Battle Shaping Up

Reagan May jumped to the top of the rookie battle standings at Jefferson.  Just three points behind her is Tommy Gee.  Both drivers have past experience and success at Norway, picking up top fives in features.  Those drivers will hope to separate themselves not only from each other, but also from fellow rookies Mike Lichtfeld and Wyatt Blashe. Lichtfeld will hope to find some success at Norway to keep close for the second half of the season.  Familiar facilities lie ahead for Lichtfeld in LaCrosse, Dells and Slinger.


Plenty of First Timers

Many TUNDRA drivers will be making their first trips to Norway in a Super Late Model.  No less than a dozen TUNDRA drivers will be attempting to settle point battles in unfamiliar territory.  Among the first-timers at the top of the standings are Kendall, Travis Dassow and Michael Bilderback.



Nine drivers will be making their TUNDRA debuts in Saturday’s event.  Eight of those drivers will be Norway regulars.  Tyler Bauknecht is the lone “outsider” who will be making his debut.  The former Mid-American Stock Car Series Rookie of the Year gained Super Late Model experience at WIR over the past two seasons.  Many of the drivers making their debuts have expressed intent to rejoin TUNDRA at more events this season.


Up Next…

Round Five Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes will be held at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, Wis., on Saturday, July 26.  TUNDRA will join the weekly NASCAR program for one action-packed evening at the home of Oktoberfest Race Weekend.  Last season Frank Kreyer took off to grab the win, while Nick Panitzke put on a dazzling display working his way back to third after an early incident with Dalton Zehr.



Past Stateline Challenge Winners

2013- Dillon Kralovetz, Bonduel, WI

2012- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2011- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2010-2008- No Race

2007- Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, WI

2006- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2005- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2004- Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, MI

2003- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

2002- Dale Peterson, Escanaba, MI

2001- Mark Schoeder, Green Bay, WI

2000- No Record

1999- Mark Schoeder, Green Bay, WI

1998- Dale Peterson, Escanaba, MI

1997- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

1996- Kevin Cywinski, Mosinee, WI

1995- No Record

1994- No Record

1993- Matt Kenseth, Cambridge, WI

1992- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, WI

1991- Bob Menor, Wausaukee, WI

1990- Terry Baldry, Omro, WI

1989- Allen Check, Stevens Point, WI

1988- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

1987- Scott Hansen, Green Bay, WI

1986- Scott Hansen, Green Bay, WI

1985- Mike Mattson, Marquette, MI

1984- Mike Kelly, Norway, MI

1983- No Race

1982- Kent Pearson, Kingsford, MI

1981- Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, WI