TUNDRA Super Late Models

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association seeks to keep Super Late Model racing affordable while putting on the most entertaining program possible.


Posted on Jul 5, 2018


PORTAGE, Wis. (July 5, 2018) – If events at State Park Speedway have proven anything for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes, they have proven to be critical in the series title race. Although just the third event of the 2018 season looms Saturday, this year’s stop at the foot of Rib Mountain looks as though it could be a focal point in the title race.

A firework show at the end of Saturday’s Round Three could be the cap on a dramatic night at the competitive quarter mile.

After his dominating performance in the Bev Aschenbrenner Memorial at Marshfield, Colin Reffner tops the point standings heading into Round Three. His lead sits at 13 points over Neil Knoblock (who will represent his team in this round) and just 21 points over Justin Mondeik in Third.

Mondeik has been one of the Midwest’s most improved drivers in 2018, having captured his first Super Late Model win at State Park Speedway just over a month ago. He has been a threat to pick up podium finishes and feature wins and also enjoyed his best TUNDRA finish (Third) at Marshfield.

Behind those three is a cluster of drivers ready to make up some ground with a solid run. Fourth Place John Beale – who was a serious title contender last season – sits 42 points out of the lead. Of the drivers slated to be on hand Saturday, Beale enjoyed the best finish of the bunch with a Fifth Place effort.

Behind Beale top Back 40 Wraps Rookie contender Gabe Sommers sits Fifth in the points only 45 points back. Sommers has proven to be a quick learner with Seventh Place finishes at both WIR and Marhsfield.

Casey Johnson is just outside the Top five, only three points behind Sommers. Johnson had a solid start to the year at WIR, but is looking to overcome a DNF after looking to be in contention for the win at Marshfield.

Next in line one point behind Johnson is Mike Lichtfeld who nearly scored his first TUNDRA win at State Park in 2016. Lichtfeld is riding some momentum after a fast time in the Wisconsin Challenge Series race at SPS and a win in the WCS race at Golden Sands.

One point behind Lichtfeld sits Corey Jankowski who will be looking to recover from a wild ride at Marshfield. Jankowski had teammate Steve Apel run the event last season.

From Jankowski in Eighth just ten points separate the next four drivers including Wyatt Brooks and Jordan Thiel, who have both been threats in TUNDRA events at State Park, rookie Chad Butz who has past experience at SPS and Brent Strelka.

However, Strelka will tag out in favor of teammate Mark Mackesy. The multiple-time SPS Champion was victorious in the 2016 TUNDRA event and has been enjoying a dominant season in the Central Wisconsin Racing Association. A strong run for Mackesy could help set the table for Strelka to make a run in the standings.

The Super Late Models will be joined by the TUNDRA Sportsman Tour and the second leg of the Late Model Triple Crown. Qualifying is scheduled for 4:30 with racing to begin at 6. A firework show will round out the evening.

State Park Speedway is located at 5711 North Mountain Rd just outside Wausau, Wis. For more information visit www.stateparkspeedway.com

Expected Entries for Round Three (23)
Marshfield Motor Speedway – Saturday, July 7
[TT] – Indicates 2018 TUNDRA Traveler
[R] – Indicates 2018 Back 40 Wraps Rookie of the Year Candidate

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT]
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]
5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT]
5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]
8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT][R]
9 – Tommy Pecaro, Markesan, Wis. [TT]
12 – Mark Mackesy, Wausau, Wis. [TT]
15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT][R]
23 – Ryan Hinner, Stevens Point, Wis.
25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]
31 – Corey Jankowski, Tomah, Wis. [TT]
31 – Collin Slife, Richford, Wis. [TT][R]
32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]
38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT]
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]
44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT]
66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT][R]
80 – Ryan Farrell, East Troy, Wis.
85 – Kirby Kurth, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT]
89 – Mike Egan, Slinger, Wis. [TT]
99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT][R]
711 – Neil Knoblock, Wausau, Wis. [TT]