TUNDRA Super Late Models

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association seeks to keep Super Late Model racing affordable while putting on the most entertaining program possible.


Posted on Jul 18, 2018


Carson Kvapil Rejoins TUNDRA’s Top Guns

PORTAGE, Wis. (July 18, 2018) – Jefferson Speedway has seen three eventual season Champions land in Victory Lane during the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Powered by Wisconsin Potato events.  With just 31 points separating the top nine in series standings, Wisconsin’s Action Track could provide another title-winning moment in Saturday’s Round Four.

A heavy favorite entering the event is 2016 TUNDRA Champion and two-time Jefferson winner Casey Johnson.  Although he hasn’t secured his winning moment in 2018, Johnson has been a strong threat at all three events so far.  He sits poised to strike in the Championship battle in Third just 11 points back from the lead.

However, two youngsters with solid footing are standing in his way in the title race.  Adam Peschek tags in for point leader Colin Reffner in Round Four.  Peschek has made just one start in TUNDRA, finishing Third in his series debut last season at Jefferson.

Just four points behind that team is Justin Mondeik.  Although Mondeik narrowly missed disaster last season – but was affected by some contact – he had an overall memorable day.  Mondeik secured his first ever fast time at Jefferson last season.  He would then coax his damaged machine to a Top Ten feature finish.

It’s also very possible that Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Place-sitting points drivers could walk out of Jefferson with the top spot in the standings.  Mike Lichtfeld has been stout early this season and has two podium finishes at Jefferson to his credit.  Brent Strelka has shown speed at the quarter-mile before, but has been bitten by bad luck.  John Beale looked as though he may be on his way to an unprecedented Victory last season as he marched from dead last on the grid to finish Second.

Of those contestants for the win in last year’s event, winner Wyatt Brooks, Grant Griesbach, and Jordan DeVoy are expected to be on hand again.  It was Brooks’ second ever visit to Jefferson and an early battle with teammate Jordan Thiel – who also could be a threat come Saturday – proved to be critical.  DeVoy and Griesbach also threatened to grab their first ‘W’ on that Saturday night.  Perhaps 2018 will be the year.

This year’s field also features some veteran racers who could prove to be strong.  Multiple-time Champion Dennis Prunty tags in for Neil Knoblock.  Prunty won the TUNDRA opener at WIR and looks to go two-for-two on the season.  Fellow Slinger Speedway semi-regular Travis Dassow tags in for Darek Gress.  Dassow has a couple Top Fives to his TUNDRA credit at Jefferson, but hopes to secure his first feature win.

A late entrant into the field is North Carolina driver Carson Kvapil.  Son of former NASCAR racer Travis Kvapil was stout in his TUNDRA debut at Jefferson finishing Second to Colin Reffner.  He will again pilot the Mannstedt-owned machine but will switch the number from 91 to his family-familiar 35.

TUNDRA will be joined by the Jefferson Speedway Hobby Stocks and Road Warriors.  The main event will go 75 laps for the Super Late Models.  Gates open at 3 p.m., qualifying is at 5, and racing is at 7.

Jefferson Speedway is located at W8135 US-18 just west of the city of Jefferson.  For more information visit www.jeffersonspeedway.com


Expected Entries for Round Four (22)

Jefferson Speedway – Saturday, July 21

[TT] – Indicates 2018 TUNDRA Traveler

[R] – Indicates 2018 Back 40 Wraps Rookie of the Year Candidate

2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]

5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT]

5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]

9 – Tommy Pecaro, Markesan, Wis. [TT]

15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT][R]

17 – Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee, Wis. [TT]

25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]

31 – Collin Slife, Richford, Wis. [TT][R]

32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]

35 – Travis Dassow, West Bend, Wis. [TT]

35 – Carson Kvapil, Mooresville, N.C.

38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT]

42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis. [TT]

44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]

44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT]

51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis.

52 – Brent Strelka, Freedom, Wis. [TT]

66 – Adam Peschek, Oconomowoc, Wis. [TT]

66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT][R]

80 – Ryan Farrell, East Troy, Wis.

89 – Mike Egan, Slinger, Wis. [TT]

99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT][R]