By Dan Margetta
Slinger, Wis., Sept. 8—Brad Mueller charged to the lead following a lap 51 restart and held off a closing Dennis Prunty to win the Tundra Super Late Model Series 75-lap season finale Sunday afternoon at the Slinger Super Speedway.

“This car was awesome today, “Mueller said from victory lane, “I have to thank my crew as they worked really hard this week.”

“This has been a dream come true, “Mueller continued, “I won my dirt race last night (at Plymouth) and then to win to win at Slinger Speedway on Sunday, it doesn’t get any better than this.”

Billy Mohn and Dale Prunty brought the field to the green flag and the two swapped paint and the lead as they battled through the opening laps before Prunty was able to edge ahead from the outside. Behind the lead duo, James Swan, Travis Dassow, Paige Decker, and Jeff Holtz raced hard for position. The inside lane was the place to be early and Mohn and Decker found that out as they began to fade from the outside as Swan, Dassow, and Holtz all raced by. Brad Mueller, Dennis Prunty, Steve Apel, and Austin Luedtke also used the inside to advance forward as Dale Prunty continued to lead over Swan. Swan caught up to Prunty’s rear bumper and began to pressure him for the lead, peeking to the inside off the corners on numerous occasions. Eventually Swan was able to duck to the inside of Prunty off turn four to draw even with him as they raced through turns one and two and then use lapped traffic as a pick entering turn three to take the command of the race. While the leaders battled, Holtz, Mueller, Apel, and Dennis Prunty all were able to close the gap and lined up directly behind the top two. The first caution flag waved on lap 45 when Frank Kreyer spun in turn three while racing with Travis Dassow. Swan maintained the lead on the restart while Holtz used the lane cone to line up alongside as the field completed two laps before the yellow flag appeared again when Matt Pyburn spun into the turn one wall. This time the outside lane wasn’t as kind to Holtz and when racing resumed, Mueller, Apel, and Dennis Prunty all charged by in the lower groove as Swan continued to lead. Holtz continued to fall back in the upper groove as Austin Luedtke and Conrad Morgan went by and when Dale Prunty attempted to find a way around, both he and Holtz spun against the turn three wall, drawing the third caution flag on lap 51. Mueller also chose the outside lane for the restart and he used a strong run off turn four to challenge Swan for the lead, pulling even as they entered turn one. Mueller maintained the momentum through the turn and upon exiting turn two, was able to edge ahead and drop down in front of Swan before they entered turn three to take the lead. Dennis Prunty followed Mueller in the outside lane and as he battled Swan for second, Mueller began to gradually ease away out front. Prunty and Swan raced side by side for several laps with Apel racing directly behind them as Mueller continued to pull away. Prunty was able to finally wrestle second away from Swan and began to close slightly on Mueller for the lead as the laps wound down. However, Mueller’s lead was too much to overcome and he drove under the checkered flag for the victory ahead of Prunty who finished a strong second. Swan crossed the finish line in third while Apel and Luedtke rounded out the top five in fourth and fifth respectively.

Braison Bennett won the super late model Waterfurnace non-qualifiers race over Steve Lichtfeld and Claire Decker while super late model qualifying race wins were recorded by Dalton Zehr and Davey Pennel. Randy Schuler won the super late model Gong Show race over Curt Tillman as they transferred to the main event while Brad Mueller was the winner of the fast dash. Steve Apel was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 11.479 seconds.