WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. (August 24, 2014) – Ty Majeski is having a 2014 season that will be tough to forget. The Seymour, Wis., native, quickly becoming one of the top Super Late Model drivers in the country, made another mark Saturday night when he captured his first TUNDRA Super Late Model Series win.

With his victory in TUNDRA Round Seven Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes at Dells Raceway Park Majeski became the youngest winner in TUNDRA history at 20 years and 5 days.

The win had some more significance for Majeski as it came at the venue where he jumpstarted his racing career. DRP is where Majeski tasted victory for the first time in a Late Model when he took a six-for-six dash in 2010. Majeski was 15 years of age at the time.

Ty Majeski became the youngest winner in TUNDRA history with his win in Round Seven at Dells Raceway Park (Jeff Blaser Photo)

“I’ve always liked this place. It feels good to come back and get a checkered flag in the Super Late,” he commented in Victory Lane.

Majeski left little doubt in the 60-lapper that was interrupted by only one early caution. Majeski started third row inside and crept into the second spot at the most critical of times. Majeski had just moved past Dennis Prunty into second when the yellow came out for a skirmish involving Dalton Zehr and Billy Mohn on lap four.

Electing the outside lane, Majeski was able to pull away from early-race leader Jerry Blystone. Prunty slid back, but returned to the second spot and pursued Majeski all race long.

“This car had good roll speed,” Majeski said. “I was fortunate enough to get in the lead, get out front and conserve my tires, so I had a little something left at the end.”

After the lap-four restart when Majeski escaped Blystone, the DRP veteran was left to contend with a hungry pack of fast race cars. Although Prunty lost ground to the top two in the opening laps after the restart, he was able to reel in Blystone and took the runner-up spot back on lap 12.

Dennis Prunty (42) closes in before Ty Majeski (91) breaks away in TUNDRA Round Seven at Dells Raceway Park (Jeff Blaser Photo)

From that point, the chase was on. Prunty dashed away from what eventually turned into a battle for third among Blystone, Austin Nason and Mike Lichtfeld. On lap 14 Nason slipped past Blystone and brought the tandem of Lichtfeld and Bobby Kendall into the top five.

Shortly after grabbing third, Nason had his hands full with hearty challenges from Lichtfeld. Lichtfeld, who has won three features this season at DRP, muscled his way past Nason by lap 24. By this point Majeski and Prunty were well ahead of the heated scrap, leaving Lichtfeld a large deficit to erase.

At the halfway point Lichtfeld had stepped away from the battle for fourth. Kendall, Nason, Nick Panitzke and fast qualifier Dan Lensing disputed the spots for the next 10 laps. Kendall’s machine seemed to fade with 20 laps remaining. Nason was able to move past Kendall and soon brought Panitzke and Lensing.

While the battle for fourth was grabbing attention, TUNDRA point leader Dalton Zehr was frantically trying to work his way back through the field. With ten laps remaining Zehr had moved back to tenth. He quickly worked past Kendall, Rich Schumann, Blystone, Nason and Panitzke to fifth with three laps to go.

Meanwhile, Majeski continued to cruise up front. At times lapped traffic seemed to slow him enough to allow Prunty to close. However, any time Prunty closed the gap to get within striking distance, Majeski powered away to build his advantage.

In the final circuits Majeski grew his lead and soared to victory. Prunty remained unchallenged in second. Lichtfeld valiantly closed the gap on the top two, but simply did not have enough time to catch them. He settled for third. Behind him Lensing was just able to fend off Zehr for fourth. Lensing kept high going around the lapped car of Frank Nitzke. Zehr dived to the inside, almost completing a three-wide pass at the line.

Although Majeski cruised to a dominant victory, Zehr was able to maintain in the TUNDRA title chase. Zehr gained six passing points versus Majeski’s two. His lead grew by one point heading into the eighth and final round in two weeks.

The biggest shake up in the standings came in the Dean’s Satellite Rookie of the Year chase. Lichtfeld’s strong run allowed him to shave 19 points off his deficit. He now trails Reagan May by just four markers.

Earlier in the evening Jeff Weinfurter bested the 25-lap Country Plumber Shootout. Kelsey Bauer was second and Steve Lichtfeld was third.

The Championship Round Powered by Wisconsin Potatoes for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series is scheduled for Sunday afternoon September 7 at Slinger Speedway. TUNDRA will be joined by the weekly Slinger divisions who will crown champions, as well. More information on that event will be available soon.

Slinger Speedway is located off of Hwy 41 and Highway 144 at 280 Cedar Creek Road, Slinger Wisconsin 53086. For more information visit

The Unified Northern Drivers Racing Association (TUNDRA) Super Late Model Series was formed in 2011 as the Alive For Five Super Late Model Series at Dells Raceway Park. TUNDRA’s business plan is based on a sustainable program for promoters and race teams alike, while still providing high-quality Super Late Model entertainment to fans.

For more information on TUNDRA including news, results and the 2014 standings, archived results and standings, and more visit Also, interact with us on Facebook ( or Twitter (@TUNDRAslms).