PORTAGE, Wis. (September 16, 2020) – It’s been a while since fans have been able to enjoy fall racing at Wisconsin International Raceway.  This Sunday’s TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Transport Services LLC Round Five will not disappoint with a large field of standout drivers ready to rumble the half-mile.

The power-packed field will all be chasing Dennis Prunty who has won two straight series events at WIR.  The 2012 TUNDRA Champion looks to keep making history by extending a streak by winning three straight races at a given track.

It wil be anything but easy for Prunty, however, with a field full of past TUNDRA and WIR Champions, including two reigning Champions.  Current TUNDRA point leader and three-time series Champion Casey Johnson will be looking forward to heading back to a track where he’s seen a lot of success over the past few seasons.  He won two straight Thursday night Championships in 2018 and 2019 before competing in a limited schedule this year. 

Picking up where Johnson left off, Bobby Kendall grabbed the 2020 Championship at WIR.  He enjoyed a stretch in the middle of the season where he won four of five features, including three straight.  Kendall also has two Red, White, and Blue titles, and is a former fast qualifier in TUNDRA action at WIR.

Another former Champ with strong ties to WIR is three-time series Champion Dalton Zehr.  He won the first ever TUNDRA event at the facility in 2014.  Zehr is looking to keep his and his teammate John Beale’s title hopes alive, but will still have to leap frog a pair of 44 cars.  Mike Lichtfeld sits Second in TUNDRA standings and has a past podium finish in TUNDRA action at WIR.  Justin Mondeik sits Third and showed great improvement with a strong run in the Dixieland at WIR earlier this season.

The TUNDRA Travelers will be ready to be heard from, as well.  Colin Reffner has seen his share of Top Fives in TUNDRA action at the facility.  Jordan Thiel has shown excellent speed and awaits another solid finish.  James Swan returns to WIR where he scored many Mid-American Stock Car Series and Midwest Truck wins.  Jake Zellmer rides a ton of momentum after setting fast time for the delayed Golden Sands Speedway event.

The rookie battle will also look to heat up with Brock Heinrich and Kody Hubred positioned very closely in the standings.  Both will be visiting WIR in a Super Late Model for the first time.

Other WIR past Champions include multiple-time track and Red, White and Blue titlists Lowell Bennett and Jeff Van Oudenhoven.  Both set fast times this year at WIR, but are still seeking a feature win.  Both came close on occasion, including a Second Place finish for Van Oudenhoven on the final Thursday night.

2020 Late Model (and now three-time) Champion Braison Bennett will join the field as well.  The youngest of the racing Bennetts has shown good speed in his two TUNDRA appearances thus far this season. 

Other WIR drivers looking to make noise include 2017 track Champion Andy Monday, 2020 Super Late Model Rookie of the Year Jeff Holmgren, Taylor Vandermoss, and Top Ten point getter Randy Schuler.

A pair from a race track to the south of WIR could be heard from as well.  RJ Braun races at Slinger Speedway regularly, but has found some serious magic at WIR.  In his two appearance Braun finished Second to Casey Johnson in the Blue race and won the following Thursday.  Brad Keith will also make his return to the series to test WIR for the first time.  Keith set multiple fast times this season on the way to a Third Place finish in the standings.

A pair of drivers from the north will invade, as well, as Norway Speedway regulars Dan Lindsley and Jason Wells are slotted to return after joining the series at Marshfield earlier in 2020.

TUNDRA will be joined on the half-mile by the Midwest Dash Series.  The WIR ¼-Mile Late Models and Wisconsin Sport Trucks will compete on the tight quarter-mile.  Qualifying is scheduled for 12:30 with racing to begin at 2 pm.

WIR is located just past the intersection of Highways 55 and KK outside Kaukauna, Wis. Rough camping is allowed on the grounds Saturday night before the event.  For more information visit http://www.wirmotorsports.com

Round Five – Wisconsin International Raceway
Sunday, September 20
Expected Entry List (35 as of 9/16/20)
00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT]
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]
2 – Lowell Bennett, Neenah, Wis.
3 – Taylor Vandermoss, Darboy, Wis.
5 – Jeff Holmgren, Jr., East Troy, Wis.
9 – Braison Bennett, Neenah, Wis.
10 – Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.
11 – Bobby Kendall, Montello, Wis.
12 – Terry Schoppenhorst, Berlin, Wis.
12 – Craig Krueger, Kaukauna, Wis.
18 – Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, Minn. [TT]
20 – Kody Hubred, Utica, Wis. [TT][R]
25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]
31 – Jason Wells, Kingsford, Mich.
32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]
33 – Kevin Kneuse, Waukesha, Wis. [TT]
40 – Curt Tillman, Rockford, Ill.
42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis.
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]
44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT]
45 – Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Kimberly, Wis.
47 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]
48 – Brad Keith, West Bend, Wis.
52 – Brock Heinrich, Wausau, Wis. [TT][R]
54 – Chad Devine, Mackville, Wis. [TT]
71 – Mark Eswein, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
72 – Randy Schuler, Mequon, Wis.
77 – Riley Stenjem, Stoughton, Wis. [TT][R]
79 – Dan Lindsley, Vulcan, Mich.
87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT]
87 – Josh Wallace, Genoa City, Wis. [TT]
97 – James Swan, Genoa City, Wis. [TT]
98 – RJ Braun, Wales, Wis.
99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT]
119 – Dalton Zehr, Verona, Wis. [TT]