PORTAGE, Wis. (September 21, 2021) – The 2021 TUNDRA Super Late Model Series will be going out with a bang on Sunday at Dells Raceway Park with the highest car count of the season expected.  The field is full of challengers looking to visit Victory Lane as the series honors short track racing industry legend Carl Wegner.

Sunday’s race features one of the tightest Championship battles in series history.  Young standout Riley Stenjem leads four-time series Champion Casey Johnson by just four points.  Although Stenjem has limited Super Late Model experience at Dells, he has proven to be a quick learner all season long.  Johnson has plenty of success at DRP, including an overall win when the series ran twin features in 2018.  The overall win helped him seal the season Championship that year.

The logjam from Third Place on back is just as intriguing. Just six points separates Third Place Jordan Thiel from Sixth Place (and leading EPYK Media Rookie contender) Grant Thompson.  Last year’s Rookie of the Year Brock Henrich sits Fourth while Justin Mondeik sits Fifth.

Similar battles take place from Seventh to Tenth with Mike Lichtfeld looking to hold the spot at his home track (or possibly advance into the Top Five). He’ll have to fend off James Swan and John Beale, who is coming off a sweep in the $5,000-to-win Dream at Marshfield.  Swan will be carrying the momentum from teammate Jordan DeVoy who won the most recent TUNDRA race at Golden Sands. DeVoy will also be in the field, but will not be racing for points.

Several other contenders will look to emerge from outside the point battle including former TUNDRA Champion Dennis Prunty, former TUNDRA winner and five-time Slinger Champion Steve Apel, former WIR Champion Andy Monday, ten-time Golden Sands Champion Mark Eswein, KDDP Finalist Max Kahler, former UMA 602 Late Model Champion Brady Bill, and Golden Sands fast qualifier Jake Zellmer.

Several drivers will be making their first or second appearance with TUNDRA this season including Jeff Holmgren, Tim Lampman, and Brandon Hill.

There will be a good amount of drivers making their series debuts as well. Those include Chris Pulera, Gregory Borchardt, Brandon Reichenberger, Kevin Retzlaff, Shawn Grace, Mike Held, and Nathan Matz.

Sunday’s event will feature a 105-lap main that will pay a minimum $2,000 to the winner and $1,000 to Second Place.  Several other bonuses and incentives will be offered to the 22-car starting field.  For those who do not make the main, there will be a $500-to-win B Feature that will also offer incentives for those who compete in the 40-lap race.

Round Six Dedicated to Carl Wegner takes place next Sunday, September 26 at Dells Raceway Park. Qualifying is scheduled for 12:30 with racing at 2 pm.  TUNDRA will be joined by the DRP Sportsman and American Super Cup Series.

Dells Raceway Park is located at N1070 Smith Road just north of downtown Wisconsin Dells.  For more information visit

Round Six Dedicated to Carl Wegner
Dells Raceway Park
Sunday, September 26, 2021
Expected Entries (44) as of 9/22/21

# – Driver, Hometown
00 – Chris Pulera, Burlington, Wis.
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis.
2 – Darren Jackson, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
2 – Gregory Borchardt, Prior Lake, Minn.
4 – Luke Fenhaus, Wausau, Wis.
5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis.
5B – John Beale, Verona, Wis.
5 – Jeff Holmgren, East Troy, Wis.
5 – Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton, Wis.
9 – Tim Lampman, Oak Creek, Wis.
9 – Braison Bennett, Neenah, Wis.
10 – Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.
16 – Luke Westenberg, Jefferson, Wis.
17 – Max Kahler, Caledonia, Ill.
20 – Kevin Retzlaff, Berlin, Wis.
20 – Larry Epright, East Troy, Wis.
31 – Corey Jankowsi, Tomah, Wis.
32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis.
32 – Jesse Bernhagen, Neillsville, Wis.
33 – Kevin Kneuse, Waukesha, Wis.
34 – Brandon Hill, Lake Geneva, Wis.
38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis.
40 – Curt Tillman, Rockford, Ill.
42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis.
44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis.
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis.
50 – Hunter Stenson, Wisconsin Dells, Wis.
51 – Steve Apel, Slinger, Wis.
52 – Brock Heinrich, Wausau, Wis.
52 – Shawn Grace, Elkhart, Ind.
54 – Grant Thompson, Mobile, Ala.
64 – Mike Olson, Wausau, Wis.
70 – Brady Bill, Reedsburg, Wis.
71 – Mark Eswein, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
72 – Mike Held, Hartford, Wis.
76 – Travis Volm, Mosinee, Wis.
77 – Riley Stenjem, Utica, Wis.
80 – Ryan Farrell, East Troy, Wis.
82 – Nathan Matz, Burlington, Wis.
89 – Mike Egan, Slinger, Wis.
97 – James Swan, Lake Geneva, Wis.
99 – Jake Zellmer, Muskego, Wis.
107.5 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis.
232 – Myles Marshall, LaValle, Wis.