GREEN BAY, Wis. (May 9, 2023) – Past TUNDRA and Fox River Racing Club Champions will clash at Wisconsin International Raceway this Saturday for the second running of The Bear 66 presented by Great Lakes Testing.

It will be the tenth time TUNDRA visits the historic half-mile, but only one past winner will be in the field. Translation, the path to Victory Lane may go through Dalton Zehr.

Zehr is the reigning WIR/FRRC Thursday night and Red, White and Blue Champion. He notched the first ever TUNDRA series win at Kaukauna in 2014. Since that time, he has threatened with several podium finishes, but has not recaptured victory.

There will be no shortage of talent looking to keep Zehr from becoming a repeat winner.  From the TUNDRA camp, defending Champion Justin Mondeik will be looking to build on his Second Place finish from last year.  Five-time WIR Champ Jeff VanOudenhoven will be looking to grab the first win for the WIR regulars, coming off a fast time and Third Place finish in 2022.

A hearty host of challengers will be in the mix, including former WIR Champions Lowell Bennett, Andy Monday, and Maxwell Schultz.  Tests from the TUNDRA faithful should be expected from Chad Butz, Jordan Thiel, Brock Heinrich, Colin Reffner, and Kole Guralski.

A few spoilers will add intrigue, as well. They include former WIR Late Model Champion Sawyer Effertz, past WIR point runner up Grant Griesbach, Tim Springstroh, Jeremy Lepak, and Jeff Storm.

Several others will be hoping for strong debuts in TUNDRA action including EPYK Media Rookie of the Year contender Mitchell Haver and Jerry Mueller.

TUNDRA will be joined on the half-mile by the Mid-American Stock Car Series while the WIR ¼-mile Late Models and Wisconsin Sport Trucks will pound the pavement on the tight quarter-mile bullring.

Fan gates open at noon, qualifying is at 12:30pm and racing begins at 2pm. 

The Bear 66 Presented by Great Lakes Testing
Wisconsin International Raceway
Saturday, May 14, 2022

Expected Entries (23) as of 5/9/21
# – Driver, Hometown
2 – Sawyer Effertz, Darboy, Wis.
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis.
2 – Lowell Bennett, Neenah, Wis.
7 – Mitchell Haver, West Bend, Wis. [R]
8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis.
10 – Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.
12 – Joshua Butler, Appleton, Wis.
17 – Issac Therrien, Seymour, Wis.
GT17 – Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee, Wis.
24 – Nick Van, Greenville, Wis.
25 – Jeff Storm, Waterford, Wis.
36 – Tim Springstroh, Freedom, Wis.
40 – Jeremy Lepak, Wausau, Wis.
44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis.
45 – Jeff VanOudenhoven, Kimberly, Wis.
47 – Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville, Wis.
49 – Jerry Mueller, Richfield, Wis.
52 – Brock Heinrich, Wausau, Wis.
56 – Kole Guralski, Wausau, Wis.
79 – Barrett Polhemus, Wimberly, Tex.
87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
91 – Mickey Schallie, Darboy, Wis.
119 – Dalton Zehr, Verona, Wis.